Welcome From The Chair :: Tiffin School Governors :: Governors' Meetings

Welcome from the Chair

The visions and aims of Tiffin School remain essentially unchanged from those I experienced in the 60s and 70s as a student at Tiffin. While academic achievement and progress are the major aims of a Tiffin education they are by no means all we set out to do. Although we select boys purely by academic ability our aims are to combine truly outstanding academic attainment and progress with offering the widest possible extracurricular opportunities and the fostering of strong moral and social development. We aim thereby to equip our students with the arts and habits they will need to make a meaningful contribution to society. These are to remain curious about learning, to take decisions and lead where called for, to be confident, to raise their voices and be heard, to debate their position and convince others, to apologise gracefully and admit when they are wrong, and above all to be generous to those less capable or fortunate. These values are reflected in our Vision Statement for Tiffin to “Engage, Aspire, Excel”.

The 2017-18 academic year is seeing a very significant change to the physical appearance of the School with the completion of a beautiful state of the art building accommodating five new classrooms, brand new kitchen and dining facilities and a new London Road wall and pedestrian entrance near the Lovekyn chapel. The new building and entrance will fully accommodate the expansion we began in 2015-16 when our Year 7 entry was increased to 180 pupils and will enable both current and future generations of Tiffinians to receive their education, and our highly professional and wonderful staff to work, in the surroundings they deserve. The competitively bid for government grant funding required for the building was won through an extraordinary cumulative four year effort of Staff and Governors and was supported strongly with additional voluntary donations from Parents and Alumni.

As expected for one of England’s leading selective state schools for boys our academic results remain very strong with our usual outstanding levels of achievement at both GCSE and A level and University admissions. This is despite significant changes to exams over the past two years.

Our achievements would not be possible without the continuing strong support of Tiffin Alumni and our current and former Parents both in terms of voluntary donations and time. This support must continue if Tiffin is to thrive. Ultimately, the students of the School both past and present whose lives have been so affected by the education they have received, together with their Parents and their Teachers, are its long-term guardians.

The Governing Board of the School and the Trustees of the Tiffin School Foundation, the body that owns the land on which the School is built and which oversees charitable donations to the School, are dedicated groups of people who serve the School as governors, company directors, and charitable trustees without monetary reward. Many of them are either parents, former parents or Alumni. They spend an extraordinary amount of time on School matters, holding the executive to account, and at all times make decisions which are in the best interests of the School.

It is a privilege both to have attended this great School as a student and also to serve as a Governor and Foundation Trustee.

P. Phillip Phillips

Chairman of Governors: Tiffin School
Chairman: Tiffin School Foundation

↑ back to top

Tiffin School(registered Company number 07547311) Members

The following were appointed 1 March 2011
Mr James Heath, MA
Mr John Kelvin Lulham, MBE, BA, CPFA
Mr Pip Phillip Phillips, MA

Tiffin School Governors 2018-2019

Foundation Governors

Mr P Phillips, MA (Chairman)
Mr JK Lulham, MBE, BA, CPFA
Mrs PM Wardley
Mr JA Turner, HND, Cert. Ed.
Mr J Hasler-Winter, MA, MRICS
Mr E Trump, BA
Mr S Goodridge, BA, ACA
Mr S Satkunarajah, AB
Mrs A Jones, LLB (current parent)

Co-opted Governors

Mr D R Evans, BSc
Mr G Hancock, MA, ACA
Mrs M Garner

Parent Governors

Mrs A Weymes-McElderry, BA(Hons), PGCE, CTEFLA

Staff Governors

Mr C O’Connell, BSc
Mr I Sedgley, BSc

Local Community Governor

Mr K Davis


Mr M D Gascoigne, BA

Company Secretary

Mr J Farnham

Clerk to Governors

Ms D Moss

Please click here for a brief introduction to each of the governors (PDF format).

Please click here for a summary of governance and the remit of the governing body and its committees.

Please click here for further details of governors including attendance at meetings and relevant business and pecuniary interests.

↑ back to top

Governors' Meetings

Trustees’ and Committee meetings are held in the Head’s Study and meetings of the Full Governing Body take place in Room 3 which is on the ground floor of the Main School building.

Please click here for a timetable of meetings for the current academic year (PDF format).

↑ back to top
OFSTED 2011-12 Language College Arts College International School Award Arkwright